La dolce far niente

“You’re going to have to learn to select your thoughts the same way you select your clothes every day. Now that’s a power that you can cultivate. You want to come here and you want to control your life so bad work on the mind, and I don’t think you should be trying to control a thing because if you can’t master your thoughts you are in trouble forever.”

Let it be!

“Shit.” That was my reaction after hearing those lines. Giving an emphasis to the last line (though Im not quite sure if it was really after those lines, but I knew it was along that dialogue) for reminding me the recent song my professor (a favorite) suggested that I should listen to because it perfectly fits me. It’s for me! =)

Eat Pray Love is a wonderful movie that offers a lot of ideas that could make you think. And wonder. But that was exactly the issue here — thinking. Thinking too much. Thinking a lot.

Meditation would kinda be hard for me, really. But I’d love to try. I think Imma try it, at home. I think it would be awesome. If I could achieve such, eh?

And the movie, I admire the lead character. She’s a writer, probably the thing that I’d love to be. And she loves travelling, and with no hesitation. Italy! Food. India. Meditation. But Im not actually into the love part. (haha!) Ok.

And as I was google-ing the quotes written above, I stumbled upon this article and a concept of “The Theatre of the Mind.” I really don’t have to explain further. right? It’s all in the mind. I agree.  Paranoia. Those what if’s. Delusions.

“Your emotions are the slaves to your thoughts, and you are the slave to your emotions.”

Kung parang computer lang ang utak, dalas sigurong nagha-hang ng utak ko. Sa dalas ng gamit? Malamang, pero sa walang kwentang bagay. And I seriously wanna experience that thing having a tag that says “I’M ON SILENCE.” I need it bold and big! Hahaha. =) That’d be fun. And relaxing.

****

We all want things to stay the same. Settle for living in misery because we’re afraid of change, of things crumbling to ruins. Then I looked at around to this place, at the chaos it has endured – the way it has been adapted, burned, pillaged and found a way to build itself back up again. And I was reassured, maybe my life hasn’t been so chaotic, it’s just the world that is, and the real trap is getting attached to any of it. Ruin is a gift. Ruin is the road to transformation.

Leave a Reply

